Mi Familia Vota Denounces Trump Policy to Separate Immigrant Children from Parents


For Immediate Release
May 7, 2018
Contact: Karina Martínez | karinam@mifamiliavota.org | 858/752-1262

Mi Familia Vota Denounces Trump Policy to Separate Immigrant Children from Parents

Washington D.C. – U.S. Attorney Gen. Jeff Sessions on Monday announced plans to have “100 percent” of immigrants apprehended at the border be referred to the Department of Justice for prosecution, and for children to be separated from their parents and surrendered to the Department of Health and Human Services.

Executive Director of Mi Familia Vota, Ben Monterroso issued the following statement:

“This decision to rip children apart from their parents is deranged and 100 percent wrong. The damage to any child’s physical and emotional development, let alone the parental suffering, is inhumane. Our country should not be associated with the immoral practices being practiced by Attorney Gen. Sessions. The silence from the GOP is disdainful: all children should be protected from harm and kept under their parents’ care.

“It is alarming that Trump’s extremist anti-immigrant ideology could go phenomenally unrestrained, emboldening other anti-immigrant officials in our government and even desensitizing our country to the harmful practices of this administration. Our moral compass has been destroyed by this president.

“The Trump administration has crossed all ethical boundaries and we must unite all of our efforts to restore and defend our national values. We need a Congress that will protect immigrants from flagrant, unnecessary attacks. As voters we need to make sure that we provide safeguards for our immigrant populations through the people we elect and the policies we approve.”


Mi Familia Vota is a national civic engagement organization that unites Latino, immigrant, and allied communities to promote social and economic justice through citizenship workshops, voter registration, and voter participation. Mi Familia Vota has operations in Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Nevada, and Texas.