Florida Lawmakers Defy Immigrant and Latino Community with passing of SB168


For Immediate Release
June 14, 2019
Contact: Nancy Batista at nancyb@mifamiliavota.org

Or Karina Martínez at karinam@mifamiliavota.org



Florida Lawmakers Defy Immigrant and Latino Community with passing of SB168

(Tallahassee, Florida) –  SB 168, a bill allowing law enforcement agencies to enforce federal immigration law, was signed into law by Governor Ron de Santis. The bill passed 22-18 in the Senate and 68-45 in the House. 

Nancy Batista, Florida state director for Mi Familia Vota, issued the following statement:

“Florida lawmakers and Governor Ron DeSantis have put the rights and wellbeing of Floridians,  particularly those of Latinos and immigrants, at risk by passing SB168. This bill, now law, is founded on false anti-immigrant narratives that echo and support President Trump’s national agenda. Lawmakers sent a dangerous message with this bill that Latino and immigrant lives can be devalued through policies that spawn fear and disrupt our daily lives.

“This is devastating news to us as well as to our communities; the components of SB168 stand at odds with our values and will have deleterious impact on the safety of our community. SB168 will deputize law enforcement into being ICE agents, helping to fast-track deportations, which tears families apart and breaks our community.  Ultimately, SB168 will sever trust between law enforcement and our community.

“We stand with the Latino and immigrant communities and will fight back against SB168. We urge all residents who encounter incidents of racial discrimination at the hands of any agency to report it immediately. You can report any abuse to the Florida Immigrant Coalition hotline: 1-888-600-5762.”


Mi Familia Vota is a national civic engagement organization that unites Latino, immigrant, and allied communities to promote social and economic justice through citizenship workshops, voter registration, and voter participation. Mi Familia Vota has operations in Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Nevada, and Texas.